Newbie trys to build plugs

Rate this topic

ADTR14

(I don't know if I'd consider this a tutorial since I'm a complete newb, but this has been my process so far. I still have a lot to learn but thanks to several online resources and norcalkat I'm getting better)

Hoping I'll be able to learn a few more tricks of the trade from joining here, being I'm really starting to enjoy this hobby. And hopefully this may inspire others to give it a try.

After my Pyramid trip in April, I had several people suggest I try trolling some Lyman lures for the big Cutts. Well, after some research I found out they are no longer made and the more popular colors are difficult to find...

This dilemma sparked an interest in me building my own plugs. So, I continued my research on what it would take for me to build a similar product. A simple google search *will help you find the supplies. 

I also had to decide if I wanted to paint the lures myself or send them out. I have sent out a couple in the past and as I recall they were fairly expensive, along with taking quite awhile to receive. So I went on youtube for some tutorials and to my surprise it didn't seem all that difficult to paint. I managed to find an Iwata airbrush with a compressor and a bunch of paint on craigslist for $120. And with some old beat up lures I've found over the years, I started practicing a few patterns.

List of supplies:
wood - Alaskan yellow cedar
screw eyes - standard and heavy duty
swivels - Rosco Crane, various sizes
hooks - Owner, various sizes
split rings - heavy duty
Painting supplies - Iwata dual action airbrush w/ createx paints
Heres a few pics to show where I'm at so far. I'm still waiting on a burr that I will use to cut the cup shape in the face of the lure.
XGKJd7u.jpg
aKfD6MR.jpg
wVahnsx.jpg