Been To Montauk?

Rate this topic

ByronPA

I'm hoping to make it out there in mid September for the first time. I'm in the Harrisburg area and mapquest is sending me out the PA Turnpike, to the NJ Turnpike, through NY City and out 27, or whatever the main road going out is.

Mapquest is claiming this will take five hours? I find that rather doubtful, I'll be leaving here around noon on a Saturday. Is five hours close to being accurate? 

You are closer to 6 hours.  Do not go thru the city, I repeat, do not go thru the city.  Mapquest gave me a much better route from hburg to massapequa ny, and from there its about 2 hours.  Stop at All American Burger for some nostalgic burgers and shakes. 

I'm a trucker. I live on Long Island and I used to work for Schneider. So I know your area. Take 81 to 78 to NJT north to 1and 9 (exit 15E). Take that to the Holland tunnel. Once out of the Tunnel, take the local streets to the Williamsburg bridge. As long as its not rush hour, you should be fine. From there take the BQE to the LIE. Get off at exit 70, route 111. take that south to 27 and take that to the end.

Avoid the city, like the plague.  All you need is some parade, or bunch of fools to clog up your route.  Stick to the parkways and enjoy the ride.  Truckers must go thru the city, vacationers, not so much.

Trucks don't go through the city! I parked my truck in NJ and drove my car back and forth every day. You did it what? Once?

Byron, I head up there a few times a year from Harrisburg.  Usually leave after work on a Friday night, so traffic isn't that bad, but we just hit 81-N to 78 pretty much all the way to NYC.  From there, you hit a few of the 95 variants, over the George Washington, and end up getting off at Throg's Neck.  Then you hit the cross-island parkway to 495.  495 out a ways until you eventually turn off and hit 27 until you get to Montauk.

Travel time is about 5.5 hours