Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Bobby

Is their a method for matching reel/rod?

Rate this topic

14 posts in this topic

How does one match the proper rod with a certain reel. I mean I always figured it was a preference thing, but do some rod/reels work better together?

I kind of have a formula I use in my head to match stuff up. Hard to explain. But for spinning setups, your inner spool diameter should (closely) match the diameter of the lowest guide on the rod. I tend to follow that pretty closely.

I am new at surffishing and the equipment used for it,but here is the way I match a rod and reel.

I am matching a reel to a 9ft Lami Surf King spin rod. What I did was figure the rods capabilities of lure weight 5/8 oz. to 2oz. I then figured the line to be used from 10lb to 17lb. I will use 10 to 14 lb line on the outfit.I then checke all the different reels I know of for line capacity and weight of reel. I found the Tica SA4000 to be the best reel by having the most line cap. per oz of weight. That is how I do it and its just something I figured out on my own. I am sure the people on this board will be able to give you some better advice as how to do it. I should have asked this question myself.

My next match is to match a Tica Taurus 5000 to a rod. It looks like the Tica UEHA 11 ft is winning.

If you tell what you want to match the members here will know if it works or not. John

Interesting formulas' that you guys have come up with. I thought it was as easy as: reel handles 12-25lb. fish, rod handles 12-25lb fish so therefore it's a match! Then I would get into how much feeling do I want in the rod. Light, heavy, med-heavy, med-light.

reel handles 12-25lb. fish, rod handles 12-25lb fish

12-25# on the rod and reel is the pound test line recomended not the pound fish you can expect them to handle.