Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Kent I

Renzetti cam vs non-cam holding power?

Rate this topic

9 posts in this topic

Sorry everybody...spell checker strikes again.

Is there a significant difference in holding power between the cam and non-cam versions of the Renzetti Traveller jaws?

I'v used both and, in my experience, there was no real difference in holding power.  But I do prefer the convenience of the cam jaws and that's what I use now.  JMO

Thanks for the reply JMO. There are some good deals to be had on the non-cam type, although the new ones don't exactly break the bank. I'm a beginner and looking for something I won't want to replace in 6 months. So far, I can't tie fast enough for convenience to be a factor, but rigidity definitely is.

My first vise was a renzetti presentation 3000, the one with 2 tension screws on the jaws. It was adequate, but not impressive. The cam on the renzetti vises doesn't lock the way a dyna king or peak does, they lack tenacity imo.

whats the difference?  Cam and non cam.  which cost more also.   Also on my vise I have a spring at the back?  what is that for.

whats the difference?  Cam and non cam.  which cost more also.   Also on my vise I have a spring at the back?  what is that for.

I don't remember there being any difference in cost, one will be a hair faster. Your spring is a material clip, the only time I ever use mine is if I'm trying to keep a dubbing loop out of my way while I'm doing something else. The one on my regal went in the trash.

I don't have any experience with the cam, but with the two screw version, here is a little trick.  If you replace the front screw with a longer one you can hold really large hooks, I've tied on a 9/0 with no problems.