Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Shag

Sheet rocking question

Rate this topic

10 posts in this topic

I have some pipes below the rafters that I'm framing a chase around with 2x4s. I'm framing it out like a tray around the edge of the room so it doesn't have that chopped up look. When I rock I need the beveled edge to join up with the other ceiling panels for a smooth ceiling joint. Any tricks for rocking around the chase? I suppose I should use corner beads around all the edges, are there other suggestions? Really not my forte', I'm a total newbie to this.

Thanks

Cant really come up with any trix so to speak, but if you want to save some spackling, maybe use J molding on the vertical piece that butts to the cieling. And instead of corner bead, use a bullnose bead. It has a round edge, and will save on your noggin if Ya bump it.

Corner bead for the outside corners, just use joint tape on the inside corners. It's easier to skim one side of an inside corner and allow it to dry before skimming the other one. A nice trick is to use the premixed joint compound (lightweight and NOT the stuff that claims to be low on dust) and add in a good amount of Plaster of Paris to each batch as you go along. I only mix enough JC that I can apply in about 15 minutes, using a paddle on my cordless drill. The stuff will dry enough in a half an hour that you can apply a second and third coat in the same day.

Corner bead for the outside corners, just use joint tape on the inside corners. It's easier to skim one side of an inside corner and allow it to dry before skimming the other one. A nice trick is to use the premixed joint compound (lightweight and NOT the stuff that claims to be low on dust) and add in a good amount of Plaster of Paris to each batch as you go along. I only mix enough JC that I can apply in about 15 minutes, using a paddle on my cordless drill. The stuff will dry enough in a half an hour that you can apply a second and third coat in the same day.

pop/jc mix