Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Southcoastphil

Question on sealing beat up plugs

Rate this topic

33 posts in this topic

Greetings all.

As a woodworker, I mix up all sorts of concoctions for finishing all types of projects, including refinishing tables and furniture. These are often some combo of pure mineral spits, varnish and BLO, as a function of the task at hand.

I have a number of pretty beat up wooden plugs, which I want to seal to prevent water logging. 

Note that (at risk of being publicly tarred and feathered here!) I'm not looking to repaint most of these plugs, just to seal them against water ingress.  (There are, however, a few plugs that I will want to completely strip, seal, primer, colors, and clear coat.)

Is there any reason that I couldn't use a thin mix to soak into the wood and waterproof it?  I'm thinking spar for the varnish component, since its less brittle/more flexible than traditional varnishes, which means that I could use latex rattle can paint for the few plugs that I intend to repaint.

I envision a thorough cleaning of the plug, gently scraping off any flaking paint, a wipe with a little bit of MS, warm up the plug in a low oven, then apply the "medicine" with a brush, prolly doing a couple of coats.

Looking forward to your thoughts.

TIA, as always, for your help.

Phil

what i do is just use the left over epoxy from each batch I spin. I just brush it on my beat up plugs in all the areas that are beat from hooks and rocks. I don't paint them just brush on a light coat and hang them scars and all. I might do a few coats if real bad hook rash. Works great .

what i do is just use the left over epoxy from each batch I spin. I just brush it on my beat up plugs in all the areas that are beat from hooks and rocks. I don't paint them just brush on a light coat and hang them scars and all. I might do a few coats if real bad hook rash. Works great .

that how i do it too