Rio outbound #10 coilling problem

Rate this topic

dcote

Hi,

Of the 3 different rio lines i have only this one keep having coils in the running lines.

post-56996-0-71076000-1453340157_thumb.jpeg

I did try to strech it using a piece of rubber and the result was perfect.

post-56996-0-42535200-1453340414_thumb.jpeg

After i put back the Line on the reel, the coils came back....

Did you have similar experience ?

Any suggestions?

Thanks

Dc

Dc

Coiling has been a problem since modern fly lines came into use. I've been fishing for many,many years and have never heard of any kind of method to permanently remove coils (if anyone knows how please chime in).

But there are a number of ways to remove, or at least reduce the severity of the problem. I remember Lefty Krey telling his audience at one of the shows that he stretches his lines just before fishing by stepping on his line and pulling up. He keeps doing that until the entire line has been stretched. I do some thing similar by pulling about three feet of line out and stretching it out between my two hands until the entire line is stretched. If your lucky enough to fish with a partner you can stretch the line between you. Some times I find I have to restrech the line after a couple of hours of fishing.

Hope this is of some help.

Dan