Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
stroipaHuntah

Fly Line Recommendations

Rate this topic

17 posts in this topic

Hi All,

I am relatively new to the fly fishing game.  Caught my first bass last year and I want to catch a whole lot more this season.  I fish from shore and boat.  I like to go from shore in back bays until June really.  I also want to catch albies on the fly as they don't seem to like my spinning offerings and the fly guys seem to kill it. My current setup is a TFO Lefty Kreh series 9 weight.  I have two spools and had an intermediate and floating setup.  They are about 6 years old and it's time for new line.

I am sort of intimidated by the amount of line options out there, and I'd like some recommendations.  Typically fishing in water less than 10 feet, in the long island sound.  I am a decent caster but really struggle in the wind, like everyone I imagine.  Also seem to be struggling with larger flies, but getting the hang there.  At a casting demo I tried a line and I was amazed at how much it seems the technology has changed.  I was casting a ridged line with a lot of texture, and I believe it was weight forward.  I seemed to really be able to really shoot that line with some distance.  

Give me some good options here, so I don't get fleeced at the tackle shops.  At the same time, I am willing to pay good money for something that is really worth the dough.  I just want to have some options and background before I head into a shop and the notorious fly guy at my shop starts telling me what to get.  

Help is much appreciated.

Tight lines, t minus 3 months till they start feeding in my neck of the woods at least.

Lot's of good choices out there.  Here is a list, in no particular order, from a recent thread..

The Ridge line you mentioned  is made by Scientific Angler I believe

1. Air-Flo Cold Blue Polyfuse Cold Water Intermediate

2. Orvis Hydos cold water intermediate

3. Airflo Cold Striper

4. Rio Outbound Short

5 Wulff Triangle taper