Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
will_fish_4_food

Advice on Trevala rod weight

Rate this topic

27 posts in this topic

Hi Everybody, long time lurker here who could use some advice on my next gear fix. Im narrowed it down to a left hand Avet sx mc 5.3 paired with a Trevala rod, which I'm going to use for jigging and as an all around boat rod. I generally fish the mouth of the Patuxent on the Chesapeake Bay for Blues and Stripers.

What I'm not yet sure about is the rod weight.The nice guys over at JandH tackle recommended Medium Heavy. While there is definitely potential for some cows in the Spring and Fall, I'm wondering if a medium would be better in order to keep it a bit sporty for the smaller to medium sized fish, while having enough backbone to handle bigger stripers and blues.

Im new to jigging so dont know that much about it, but i definitely plan to use it to jig the 100 foot hole at the mouth of the Patuxent. From what i've learned so far (not much) I'm guessing that will be 2-5 oz jigs. I figured i could also use it for chunking, live-lining spot, and throwing some lures that are too heavy for the light spinning rig i usually cast with.

Any thoughts or recommendations highly appreciated!  

Thanks for the info. I was worried the MH would take all the fun out of it as i've read on here about guys cranking in the 40 inchers on Avet/Trevala MH combos like they were schoolies. 

@Scoobydoo i've spent far too much time in the last months staring at your Avatar!

Thanks for the info. I was worried the MH would take all the fun out of it as i've read on here about guys cranking in the 40 inchers on Avet/Trevala MH combos like they were schoolies. 

@Scoobydoo i've spent far too much time in the last months staring at your Avatar!

You can pull real hard on the 6'6 mh....but it has some flex

I moved from the trevalas to the tallus and teramar ne for allaround boat bass sticks and actually like them a bit more.