Circle hooks vs J-hooks for tile fishing

Rate this topic

Fishjp29

Hi guys was wondering what types of hooks you guys prefer for tile fishing? I'm a complete newbie when it comes to this type of fishing. I recently purchased a Black hole challenger bank 731H rod from jignpop and I'm playing on using a jmpe8 reel, any help would be greatly appreciated don't know if the action of this rod is better suited for one hook type or another since its not too stiff. I've been looking at rigs on reelseat.com and just would like some help before I buy anything thanks.

Edited by Fishjp29

I'm not a newbie to fishing just when it comes to tile fishing, I normally fish for cod and black sea bass in the winter months and since tile fishing seems very similar it has peaked my interest, but by no means am i an expert far from it but i can hold my own. Im familiar with using both circle and j hooks just i,ve always fished with long heavy rods and mono both bait/jigging. It will be my first time using a rod with this type of action so i don't know if i will benefit from one style or the other but thanks for your response sytheteacher.

I am by far no expert on tile or deep drop fishing, although I read everything I can get my hands on, have searched the net and spoken w/ many seasoned experts on the subject. I’m geared up for my first couple trips soon. My 1st two got canceled due to poor offshore drift conditions, for which I’m greatful to the captians for not just taking my $$$.