Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
JDC

My poor sand sled

Rate this topic

21 posts in this topic

I know that you mechanically inclined folks have helped me in the past so here goes. My 88' Toyota 4runner (automatic) stalls when I shift from park to drive. Not all the time and it usually starts right up again. Any tips on a fix?

No, it could pretty much do it anytime. It does'nt happen every time I shift from park to drive but it occurs ofter enough for me to have noticed.

JDC,

Believe me, I'm no expert, but check yer hoses. Back in the old days of points, plugs and condenser those were the hazard areas (along with a low idle). Nowadays it's it's tubing. Seriously, look for a pinhole. I was amazed at what can happen to a '92 Wrangler with a bad return hose.

Yer mileage mey vary .....considerably

PaulH

What size engine? I'll check at work tomorrow see what i can find out for ya, if I can't find anything i'll check with the bossman down there see what he thinks it may be.

Tight LInes!

Tim

That really isn't enough info to make an accurate judgement on that problem but I would guess its the map sensor or oxygen sensor either or. When you take it to the shop they will put it on a diagnostic machine and pin point the problem and what sensor needs to be replaced.

Thanks, but,I don't see any chance of getting to MD. I'm gonna try a few cheap fixes (dry gas/FI Cleaner) before I take it to the shop and get it diagnosed.

I'm not sure if cars still have these but my '71 mustang had the same problem and it was the neutral cutoff switch.

The mechanics before the Diagnostic Computers knew what to look for, knew the symptoms of different problems, and knew the first things to check.

Now all they have to do is plug it up to a machine and it tells them what's wrong and what to do, and they get paid $69.00 per hour to do it.