Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
MontaukMonster

Looking to get a new rod wrapper

Rate this topic

8 posts in this topic

Hey guys I'm fairly new to building rods. I've only built a few on a cheap hand wrapper that was home made.

However I want to take things to the next level and buy a power wrapper.

I was looking at some of mudhole's wrappers, has anyone else used it?

If so how is it? Is it good to use from now on? I don't plan to replace it unless something goes wrong.

Any input or suggestions are appreciated.

thank you.

i use a pac bay wrapper which is the same as the amtak which is the same as the mudhole. pretty much most wrappers out there are the same just with a different name on them. the only 2 that are different are the renzetti and the clemens. i have no problems with it but i suggest you go with the upgraded chuck. eventually i'd like to spring for the renzetti but i dont build enough rods to justify the cost.

Quote:

Originally Posted by i07nyc View Post

i use a pac bay wrapper which is the same as the amtak which is the same as the mudhole. pretty much most wrappers out there are the same just with a different name on them. the only 2 that are different are the renzetti and the clemens. i have no problems with it but i suggest you go with the upgraded chuck. eventually i'd like to spring for the renzetti but i dont build enough rods to justify the cost.

How much would the pac bay cost with the upgraded chuck? I can't seem to find it. I might be google stupid.

i think mudhole sells their own with the chuck upgrade for about $400. like i said its the same machine as the pac bay. if you plan on doing surf rods you should also buy a extra section of bed and another stand. i think it costs about $100 for both.

still using that wrapper i sold you rob. good stuff bud