Type of line for plugs

Rate this topic

StriperNinjitsu

Hello everyone,

Im pretty new to striper fishing and just purchased my first SS zig zag and SS little neck popper. Upon using them, should I tie braid directly to them or use a mono leader with a snap clip to the lure? My current setup is pretty noobish; a mojo surf 9ft paired with a Shimano stradic FJ4000 (30lb ss powerpro). Would this setup also be able to withstand chucking these lures? Last thing i would need is my first investment into Super strike lures popping off haha. Any tips and suggestions would be appreciated, thanks.

Hello everyone,

Im pretty new to striper fishing and just purchased my first SS zig zag and SS little neck popper. Upon using them, should I tie braid directly to them or use a mono leader with a snap clip to the lure? My current setup is pretty noobish; a mojo surf 9ft paired with a Shimano stradic FJ4000 (30lb ss powerpro). Would this setup also be able to withstand chucking these lures? Last thing i would need is my first investment into Super strike lures popping off haha. Any tips and suggestions would be appreciated, thanks.

The conventional way is braid to swivel to fluorocarbon leader to TA or Breakaway clip. Your setup is nice. Maybe a little small on the reel but that just makes it more fun.

Braid can be frustratingly fragile when connected directly to the lure. It does not do well around fish's mouths and gill plates. It is also visible, and most fishermen prefer the clearer mono and fluoro at the terminal end.

Because we are fishermen, and, by definition, cannot agree on even the most basic truths, there are several schools of thought on leaders. They break down around three issues: leader length, leader strength, and connections.