Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
JPChase

New to rod building: Workstation ideas

Rate this topic

22 posts in this topic

Hello all, I am just getting into rod building and have yet to build my first rod.  I am seeking some ideas for setting up a work station.  Mainly a desk/table to put a used pac bay wrapper that was recently acquired.

I will be building for myself and perhaps family and friends down the road once I hone my skills a bit.  I will likely only be building surf rods from 7' to 13'.  Many of the rods I plan to build will be 1pc or have a longer tip section of 9ft or so, I am not certain if that matters, but figured I'd provide the info anyhow.

I have checked out some of the stations on the other rodbuilding site and they are quite impressive, but likely more than I will ever need.  Any input from you experienced folks would be appreciated and if you happen to have a pic of your workstation that would be great, too.

Thanks,

John

I lucked out years ago when my company downsized and I was able to get 8 foot long by 30 inch deep laminated maple (butcher block) workbenches. Took the belt sander to them and tossed a couple of coats of urethane on top. They have taken 17 years of abuse. I'll try to get pics later.

My dream setup would be a wall of those in stock kitchen base cabinets that Lowes or HD carries topped with their in stock laminate countertops. If you did 12 feet of that you would have storage out the a** and a baby butt smooth work surface.

I use the same Pac Bay wrapper and never got around to buying the extra four foot section even though I wrap mostly surf rods of one piece. I just have a bunch of accurate holes in the bench to locate the second section further out. I've wrapped up to 11 1/2 foot s glass Lamis back in the day. Kinda ghetto, but it works. Good luck