Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Ralph

Placement of Stripper Guide, xra1204-2 and xra1321-2

Rate this topic

17 posts in this topic

I received the blanks and guides for the xra1204-2 and the xra1321-2 last night. As a novice rod builder I have a few questions(more to come I'm sure smile.gif )

#1 The supplier/rodbuilder provided me with the identical set of guides for both blanks, bsvlg 50,40,30,25,20,16. How do I determine the location of the first guide (distance from the reel face) ? I would like to get it close before I do a test cast.

#2 When I assembled the rods I noticed that these blanks are very lightweight and the walls are quite thin. Should I thread wrap the ferrule were the two pieces come together to provide additional strength? I was provided with size A and D thread.

#3 Do I need to spline the butt section ?

Thanks in advance;

Ralph

Ralph,

1. That wouldn't be my first choice for a guide set, but you can do it with them. I think you could drop a guide too, 5 is enough for either rod. Read Al's article in the articles section for some general ideas of where to put them, then you could ask particular questions.

2. YOU MUST wrap the female side of the ferrule. Don't put too much pressure on the rod assembling it without the wrap either.

3. Not to be a pain in the butt, but it's a peeve of mine.wink.gif IT'S SPINE (spline was a typo in a popular rod building book that got picked up by many learning thew craft and it has unfortunately lasted for years)Anyway, you should try to spine it, but don't be suprised if it's not easy or obvious. Don't sweat it, as long as the tip is done, you're OK.

Oz, Thanks for the quick reply :

Should I drop the last guide, the #16 ? Six guides does sound like a lot for a spinning rod.

Also , I was provided with a #10 tip, will that work ok or should I go with a larger one ?

Thanks , Ralph