Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
TimA

OK one more time on spine please

Rate this topic

21 posts in this topic

So Ive read Al's articles on this website, very informative. But Im still confused on the spine issue. I hold the tip in my hand and the butt on the table, I can roll the blank until I feel it jump. Now Ive always assumed that was the spine, where I felt it jump. Feels like a high spot or ridge on the blank (on the outside of the curve). Now according to Al's article, for best casting effectiveness, the guides and reel seat, for a conventional, should go on the opposite of this ridge (the inside of the curve). Am I right? This has always confused me because seems like everyone writes something different.

..This is something that confused alot of new Rod builders..I am no expert but from what I have gathered for setting up a conventional rod for casting is to put the guides on the inside of the curve..If you have access to last months Rodmaker magazine there was an article about this that explain it in detail..Hope this helps..

------------------

SOL#2002

When you flex the blank until it jumps into its own set, you put conventional guides on the outside of the flex, or more specifically, the convex side. This is for stability of the rod when flexed. It will also be the stronger side when casting (usually) because the cast is flexed opposite from the fight. The spine tends to move around depending on where the blank has the most flex applied, so it's best to mark it multiple times.

I am wrong (partly).

The spine does not contribute to stability in a significant amount when using any high frame casting guides, however, according to Dick French, if using low frame guides like fuji concept, a substantial amount of force is required to create a guide torque strong enough to offset the blanks effective spine.

Therefore, yes and no to my above statement.

See Rodcrafters Journal Jan-Feb-Mar. 2002 for a discussion on this topic.