Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
TimS

High frame guides - sell me on 'em

Rate this topic

10 posts in this topic

OK, now that I'm a veteran rod wrapper (been wrapping now for...I dunno....3 months?wink.gif) I've done spinning rods (for myself) with the high frame guides and I've done them with the regular "normal" style guides. I like the look of the "normal" guides better, but that's just me and it's confirmed that I'm odd wink.gif

So, somebody please tell me why I should use the high frame guides? What are the differences that would lead me to want the high frame guides? Also, with most slick braids able to shoot through a soda straw, if you are planning on only fishing slick braids, can't you reasonable expect to drop down substantially in guide size? I mean, if a 40 would work for a rod built for mono, a 20 or 25 would be more than enough for a click braid, no?

Sorry Al for all the questions wink.gif I'm not gonna ask you yet why the finish on one of the guides on a rod I just did refused to stick to the thread...on one spot, on one guide! I'm guessing I got something on the thread there, it actually repelled the finish...but we'll save that one fer another day wink.gif

TimS

Such questions. You are really asking me to "push the envelope". Seriously though, all i can say is why don't you arrange with Brian Z to try out his new stick with the high-frame guides. Also, while the guides enhance your casting potential, it is critical that they be spaced properly on the blank.

As far as the finish not adhering to the thread on one wrap, it probably was due to some thread contamination that is causing a "fish-eye". Here are some tips when thread wrapping to reduce contamination:

- always keep your thread spool stored in a dark, dustproof container.

- Thoroughly clean the blank with denatured alcohol and paper towels.

- When sitting down to wrap, wash your hands every 30 minutes using powdered hand soap like Boraxo to eliminate oil on your hands.