Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
fisher1630

Tica with a busted guide

Rate this topic

10 posts in this topic

Well I busted 2 guides the other day on my tica 8' rod. After doing a search I see this is a common problem but could not find the size in which to replace them with. Could anyone recommend guids for my tica and a new tip. I have never built a rod before but do have a book on it, any recommendation for threads, guide sizes and brands, and epoxy to use is greatly appreciated.

I busted a guide on an 8 ft Tica just 2 weeks ago. I repaired it myself but didn't really care the style of guide, just the ring size since I was in the process of moving it to a backup now that I have just started building my own rods. I think the guides on my tica went something like 40 stripper then 25, 16...down to 10s or 8s. Not really sure, but what I did was removed the broken guide and went to a shop and bought a replacement the same size. This is definitely a job you can do yourself if you want and could be a good segway into building your own rods. The Tica rods make a decent blank for the money but the guides suck as far as I am concerned. Good luck.

I had the same problem with a Tica rod. I bought the same size guide, cut out the ceramic ring with a dremel and epoxied it into the existing guide. Unless you look really close you can't tell its been repaired and this method is a lot faster than rewrapping.

Strip the whole thing and rebuild it over the winter with better guides ( do it yourself, choose the guides yourself)...My first build was a rebuild of a junk St Croix Ben Doerr. I'm not sure if the "Tica" is worthy of a rebuild? But it WILL work much better next year if you rebuild it yourself....next year it'll be "your" rod not Tica's. Makes a difference when you fish.