Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Neil

How much strain?

Rate this topic

4 posts in this topic

I'll try to keep this short AL and others.

Although I've been building rods for many years(not as a business)I'm still"in -the-dark about how much pure lifting strain a rod blank will take before it breaks/is damaged.

For example:lets say I select a 10 ft graphite/composite blank rated for up to 30lb line and am using 30lb PP on my reel.

I was taught that one sets the drag to 1/3 of the line test rating on a straight pull.Personally I rarely use more than 5lbs of drag set and use "ye auld thumb or fingers"for more if I need it but I do wonder just how much real strain the blank could reasonably with stand.

Many years ago I read somewhere that one should test lift 5lbs with inshore rods for most types of fishing with the exception of deep trolling.

When I "stress test" a rod for final guide location I deflect it until the blank is loaded to the point in the blank where the bending moment ends and this has always served me well. Would like to know though just how much a blank should"lift". thanks in advance for all the good info i know I'll get. Neil

Neil,

A rod is not a "dead lifting" tool but a lever. As with any lever, the longer the lever or rod the more advantage to the fish. Also, remember that the fish is moving and has some bouyancy in the water. Rarely, are you put into a dead lifting situation.

There is a great illustration in the Loomis catalog about the lifting advantage of a rod. What it shows is that the most lifting power of a rod is achieved when the rod is between 30-45 degrees to the water. The more you lift a rod the less lifting power results.

That being said every blank has it's own lifting capacity based on it's line rating, length and taper. A 30-80 lb stand up tuna rod probably has a lifting capacity of 15-20 lb before it bottoms out. A 30 lb boat blank with a moderate taper probably has a lifting capacity of 6-8 lbs.