Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
pastormarty

Breakaway 1266 vs. 1387

Rate this topic

7 posts in this topic

Al,

Thanks for your quick response on the guide height question. On to my next...

I am planning to build my first surf rod around the end of the year (Christmas present). I have done a number of freshwater sticks years ago and am looking forward to tinkering around with it again. My question is this: can you tell me the respective sweet spots on the Breakaway 1266 and 1387? Also, does the 1266, being a lighter rod, gain me some flexibility for use as a plugging rod. Is the 1387 too heavy for redfins and spoons? I will build the rod for spinning and use it primarily for surf on the South Carolina coast.

Love your forum. It has already given me much useful info.

Pastor Marty

PM,

I have no experience with these blanks. Maybe another SOL member can contribute some info.

Glad you enjoy the forum. Lots of good people contribute.

Al

I believe those blanks are the 10'6" and 11'6" also made by breakaway as the LDFC 106/2MH and the other is sold only as a blank.

the breakaway sites are down below.

I have the 11'9" but on the All star website it says 1-3 OZ. which is wrong. The Breakaway site for my rod says 3-6 oz. which is right, so I would go by the Breakaway site for the proper lure weight.

Breakaway website Eye placement for breakaway rods Rod building website #1 rod building website #2 rod building website #3 rod building webiste #4

Good luck,

Walter

Based on the description of the rod your looking for and the lures you intend to throw I would not suggest the 1266. I would reccomend the 1265. This is not a breakaway but is still manufactured by Allstar. This is a great rod and will handle redfins and metal up to 2.5 ounces. I have just completed this rod in conventional and am in the process of starting one in spinning. Check out the 1265 you won't be disappointed.

------------------

<*{{{{{{-<

FISHLANDERS VP