Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
surfrat59

color preserver...more harm than good?

Rate this topic

18 posts in this topic

just finished my 2nd rod, similiar problem to first one although not quite as bad. after fully drying epoxy shows a white haze...is it the color preserver or the weather, was cold and damp when epoxied. a show of hands on color preserver,to use or not, would be appreciated...thanks

I'm a NO CP guy, but if applied properly, you shouldn't have a problem. The hazyness could be from applying too much, but I'm not very experienced with it.

Some guys build fancy looking rods, some guys build fishing tools where performance comes first. Granted , you can do both, but CP is just another place to go wrong, and possibly(debatable)decrease the integrity of your build.

Some guys built fishing tools that are also beautiful. L(

I hate color preserver.I only use where absolutely needed which is rare if you are careful choosing the threads.

When mixing try stiring your epoxy slowly. It sounds to me like your getting that miky look in some spots due to very tiny bubbles casued by rapid stiring. If you are using Flex Coat I cant stress it enough. If you havent already done so read the instructions fully. Although I agree with others on this board that color preserver does not need to be used. Big Dave

Some guys build fancy looking rods, some guys build fishing tools where performance comes first. Granted , you can do both, but CP is just another place to go wrong, and possibly(debatable)decrease the integrity of your build.

I agree 100%. Color Preserver is definately NOT a requirement when building a fancy rod (on butt wraps it almost is).