glow in the dark threads?

Rate this topic

Gary Lee

What does everyone think of these threads, or if does someone prefer one brand over another..and where I can find "the best" thread. The glow in the dark threads interest me as I fish the beach late at night many times during the year...and this would really be a neat thing if I don't have to keep taping those glow sticks to the tip of the pole. Thanks for all your help...

Gary,

First of all, Welcome to the site. HappyWave.gif

Where did you see the "glow in the dark" rod wrapping thread? I'm no expert but I've only seen threads that may look "bright" in neon colors but never ones that actually glowed in the dark.

I would also think that even if it was possible to make thread that actually glows it would be hard to see from any distance and would not last very long.

If you like thread that gives a sheen then try metallic thread or the neon colors. They'll look better in the long run.

If you want information on neon color threads ask Billy40, he's got tons of it and likes to make some of his rods as "loud" as possible. wink.gif

Picked up a spool of LYI 80M Glow Bug. It's a white embroidery thread that glows a nice shade of green. Did a test wrap in a scrap peice of blank. It became translucent like most white threads on a black blank, but it still glowed fairly well. Have also messed around with some glow-in-the-dark pigments. Have mixed them into the epoxy and aplied it to a test wrap. The finish dries a milky white.. but glows like crazy..I coated several jig heads with it.. hoping the stripers like it smile.gif

Fish addict - explain this mixing procedure you used. What paint & epoxy, & how did you apply it to teh rod? I'm playing around painting the entire rod withe LS Supreme & Classic Coat with Testors paint & Iridescent glitter. Am interested in this GLow in the Dark stuff too. Just in case ErikT tried to "house" my rod out of teh sand spike, I'll be able to notice quickly.