Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Capt Neil

Need your expertise on choosing a 13' 6" blank.

Rate this topic

16 posts in this topic

Hi all,

I have a customer who requires a 13' 6" surf rod that will cast 2-6 oz + sinkers, 17-20 # test mono, bait fishing down near Cape May I believe and this rod has to be able to turn large stripers and not weight a ton.

I am abit adrift on this one.

I am looking for blank suggestions based on your experiences.

How do these sound?

Lamiglas SB 166 4F

ZZIPLEX LTD ZIP0380 Dymic LT 13

CONO FLEX CON-1 or CON-2

Thanks in advance.

Capt Neil

Neil---the Lami is E-glass and weighs a ton. I'd look more toward the other two, unless price is the biggest criterion.

But it does have a lot of "turning" power.

Hi Ditch,

Thanks.

Any info on those 2 English Companies blanks would be greatly appreciated. I have no knowledge of them.

I think the Lami weights 22 1/2 oz. The CONO FLEX go 18.2 and 14.0 OZ. I could not find a weight for the ZZIPLEX.

Neil

------------------

isnt there a graphite lami, in the surf series, that goes 13'6" and throws 6-14oz or there abouts. Big bait rod basically. Its another option, even though most people I know who use this blank trim it down.

Neil,

The UK blanks tend to be much faster than what we are accustomed to here. Conoflex has a better reputation as a "fishing" rod. The Zippys are more tournament casting stuff, but that varies by model.

I would suggest extending a Lami or looking into the Purglas blanks.

Thirteen and a half feet!!! Cripes! What's he fishing for. smile.gif Seriously, if he is willing to step down to 13'2", breakaway makes a nice rod known the one piece/two piece light (aka 1508) which may serve his needs. There is even a 1507 if he wanted to go a little lighter.

Hatteras Jacks in Rodanthe, NC is a good source of information on those blanks.

Best of luck with your quest.

Tom

I'll second hatteras jack's and also put in for hatteras outfitters.