Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
fisheb00

Blank Inspection

Rate this topic

8 posts in this topic

Mr. Goldberg

Do you know of a place where people can go to look at a whole bunch of different types of Saltwater blanks. Or do you know of a shop that has a large variety of quality saltwater rods. I know what feels good to me and would like to get my hands on them before I purchase them. This year I got a sabre 1088 caster for the large stuff and like it alot. The rod throws chuggers, big jigs and eels great. I would like to look at a Saber 1087 caster to see if it will fit the bill for the smaller 1-2 oz plugs. I also need a good pencil Popper spinning rod that has an active tip section. Any input would be greatly appriciated, Bruce.

fisheb00,

There is an earlier thread on "Ceiling Pokers" asking the same question. As a custom rod builder I get to see lots of different blanks over the course of a year. However, for non rod building fishermen the challenge is finding a place that has a wide selection of rods or blanks to look over.

Not knowing where you live, I am unable to make a recommendation. However, one suggestion is to attend as many consumer takle shows over the winter as possible. There are manufacturers booths with the latest rods and reels, and blank manufacturers with their latest line of blanks. Other then that, my advice would be to find a local tackle shop with a reputable reputation for building rods and check out the blanks they carry.

This board and the Main Forum is an excellent resource to ask you question. When someone asks me to build a rod for them I need answers to a series of questions.

The first is a series of questions on the rod specs, like lure weight, line weight, spin or conventional, glass or graphite, length, etc.

The second question is the maximum amout they are willing to spend.

I am a firm believer in function over form. Meaning, the best performing rod for the dollar and forget about the fancy threadwork.