Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
santacruzer

To build or not to build

Rate this topic

12 posts in this topic

Gentlemen,

I have a factory built Ron Arra 1083-2 that I like a lot... for the most part. It's the cork wrapped grips that bothers me...a lot. I do not understand why most people would prefere such a thin grip. I don't have monster hands but find the thinness a problem to the point of building a rod just to avoid that grip. There must be a reason for the wrapped cork because just about everything on the market has them. So I'm sure it's me missing something.

I'm not opposed to building a rod, as I have done a few fly rods but the wrapped cork has still been a question for me for sometime. I would appreciate any comments. Thanks a lot for your time you guys. Paul

A cheap alternative is to layer something over the cork such as foam tape, thicker cork, etc. and put the diamond shrink over it. I am a novice and am in the process of doing a lot of my ratty grips like that. Easy-Peazy. I did several in a couple of hours.

Is it the first rod you've had with cork tape?

I remember thinking the exact same thing the first time I tried a cork tape rod. After using rods with natural cork or foam my whole life, these things felt like a toothpick in my hands. Now it's all I like to use. But if you been using it for a while and still don't like it, maybe it ain't for you. If it's a two piece rod you can switch to foam without too much trouble.

You can put a second and even third layer of cork tape to build up the diameter for more meat to grip. I use cork tape cause its a non slip , comfortable grip. i find it much better overall than foam and real cork. It has nothing to do with economics in my opinion , just performance.