Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Matthew Robinson

guide stripping

Rate this topic

11 posts in this topic

I have a tica surf rod that i want to strip down to change to a spinning rod. I am haveing a little trouble getting the old guides off. I used a utility knife to cut back the tread. but it seems the guide is still stuck to the underwrap / blank. I read in another post to use a heat gun / hair dryer to heat the flex coat to peel it off. Will the guide pop off after I heat it up? Should I remove as much of the underwrap as possible before trying to pop the guide off? what is the best approach / process for removing old guides? This is my first attempt at any form of rod building. As much help as you can give would be appriciated. thanks Matt Robinson.

Matt,

use a lighter directly on the epoxy then cut a straight line directly under the guide foot. then pull the guide in the opposite direction (away from you). it will come right off, cut under the epoxy and thread.

if you keep the epoxy warm, when you work with it, it is relatively easy to remove.

BC

Thanks I went home last night and set up a little ceramic heater. I used a wet rag to keep the blank cool and the epoxy was pretty easy to work with. I got all 10 guides stripped. Now I have to get some thread and learn how to wrap. I have tied flys for years. so can't be too hard. tongue.gif

So , this is your 1st rod you are going to wrap? Beware!This can become VERY habit forming..Do it once...you're hooked! Once is never enough. Have fun and take your time,you have all winter to get done! Don't rush!! HappyWave.gif

Matt,