Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Sebastian

Neoprene Waders

13 posts in this topic

Is it safe to wear neoprene waders while kayaking in colder weather? I have no experience with kayaks and plan on buying in about 4 - 6 weeks. Am I better off buyinf a wetsuit?

Thanks, Sebastian

Sebastian, I would not recommend wearing neopprene waders on a kayak. If you fall into water over your head the waders will fill with water and cause you to sink like a rock. I dont know if a pfd will make a difference. Try wading up to your neck and let them fill up with water you will get the picture. A farmer john wetsuit with neoprene boots and a paddling top would be a better way to go in my opinion. I hope this helps. Dave Collins

I have only used bootfoot waders. I dont know if stockingfoot waders drain at all if water gets inside them. Wetsuits are skin tight and only a thin layer of water gets between your body and the suit. Neoprene waders have more space between the body and wader to fill with water thus the added weight.

Tests conducted by yakjohn and John showed that neaprene stockingfoots actually trap air when yoiu dunk in the water. In other words you float.

I use stockingfoot breathables, with a breathable kayak top and a PFD. It functions as a 2 peice drysuit.

I also use stocking foot neoprene waders in my yak. I have yet to have water seep into them. One precaution you can always take is to add a wading belt to make them even less likely to take on H2O over the top.

Needless to say it is very dangerous to paddle out without having adequate cold water protection, and just waders of any type will not give you this. Wetsuits/drysuits and a PFD are a must. You must examine your risk level regarding how long you can survive in the water given the water temp and what you are wearing. A dunking in 50 degree water can have devastating results if hypothermia sets in. Most books on kayaking will discuss this quite throughly.

Mark