Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Bob L

Another newbie question

23 posts in this topic

I'm a newbie looking to purchase a Kayak. I want to start with a twin so I can enjoy the sport with my 9 year old daughter. She can't join me on the beach at night so I thought this would be a good way to spend time together. I took her on a Back Bay kayak tour at Hilton Head last year and we had a great time. I think we will do more cruising than fishing to start. I'll be using it mainly behind IBSP and Barnegat Bay. I tried a search and didn't find much about twin yaks. Any suggestions on what type and which manufacturers to look at would be great. Thanks in advance.

Bob

My general advice on double yaks is "forget about it". However, this usually applies to couples that think they want to paddle together. They just don't realize that "together" need not mean "attached" and that they will be infinitely happier in two boats.

Now, in your situation you may have a good reason to bring her along on your boat. If so, I'd start with the Ocean Kayak Malibu Two which is a nice stable platform and can be paddled solo by placing the seat amidships. You might look at some of the partially decked boats like the Loon (by ??) but the seating arrangement won't be as spacious.

On the other hand, a nine year old (who always wears a lifejacket, right?) should be perfectly able to paddle on her own. You'll almost certainly have to slow down to her pace, but the sense of freedom and independence that it will engender is priceless. icon14.gif

Best of luck,

Chris