Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
FrankC

Comments on Chesapeake Light Craft?

7 posts in this topic

I'm new to this forum, and a complete novice to kayaks. I live in the Chesapeake Bay area, and I'd like to get into fishing from a kayak in the river I live near.

I'm also interested in building my own boat, having built a sailing skiff and small workboat over the last two years.

With all of that said, has anyone had any experience with any of the CLC's boats? If so, can you make a recommendation on which model would be best for fishing?

Any other advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.

FrankC

Frank - CLC boats are awesome! I built a Patuxent 17.5 (NLA - replaced by Pax 18) about 5 years ago. It's VERY FAST, has been very DURABLE, is much LIGHTER than plastic or fiberglass, and LOOKS a heck of alot better!!! I wouldn't recommend it for a novice paddler though, it's somewhat tippy. The Chespeake models are higher volume and should be pretty stable. You didn't mention where you intend to fish. For a complete novice, fishing in any enclosed sea kayak may prove to be intimidating at first, especially in rough waters. You might consider purchasing a plastic Sit On Top to get your feet wet, then take your time building the kit boat (you could always sell the SOT - there is a real demand for used kayaks).

The CLC crew was very helpful during the construction of my boat. Unless you've got a lot of spare time and a lot of patience I would recommend purchasing the precut kit rather than the the plans. It seems expensive, but if you add up all the materials plus labor it's a better deal.

Good luck!

Thanks, Coyote! I appreciate your experience and your input.

I took an hour off from work on Friday and stopped by CLC's showroom to take a look and talk to others more experienced than me. After talking with one of the reps there, I think I'm leaning towards the Chesapeake 17.