Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Leo R

Questions for the experts

31 posts in this topic

I'm new to the world of yak fishing and am confused by the multitude of yaks from which to choose. I know this, I definitely want a SOT.

I visited a local dealer today who showed me the Heritage Fisherman. He said it is very stable (secondary stability I guess) because of the wide sponson width compared to waterline width. The explanation does seem logical but is it just good salemanship?

This model doesn't have provision for a rudder or skeg and from what I've been able to determine, having one is an advantage as it helps you to go straight. Any comments on that?

The dealer will be getting is some OK Scrambler XTs so I'll be able to test ride both if I wish.

Leo I am no expert but you got it right.Rudder does help keep you going straight.Lots of yaks out there.Check them out then go and try a couple.

I think the model you are talking about has not been to user friendly for some one who has one now.You can do a search and find out more .

GoodLuck

JoeV

------------------

Always Wishin I Was Yak Fishin

I'll go ahead and recommend the XT. That is a stable boat and very fishable. It does well in the surf and is fairly easy to paddle a far piece in. Not a bad choice for a first boat. The Heritage is harder to turn due to the skeg-in-the ends design, and not "as Stable" as the XT IMHO. The Dart is faster-perhaps heavier. Dart is more stable sittin sideways to swells. Neither have rudders. Rudders are not required on a fishing yak. Most rudder designs on SOT's are for tracking and trimming, not turning. There was a post last year here on SOl about a dart that was like a bucking bronco or something. Never paddled a Sea Dart, but have logged many an hour in the Sea of Cortez in a Scrambler XT.

There are dozens of cool boats on the market.

Sharp1

I don't consider myself and expert but rather someone farther up the learning curve than you.