Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
JD

best yak tip

17 posts in this topic

Had my yak out tonight for the second time, still getting the feel of everything. I have taken everyones advice and not installed anything until I'm more familiar and know where I'm going to want things. I was curious what you all think the is the best tip to give a newbie is? A paddling trick, casting, landing a fish...whatever. I'm tyring to speed up the learning curve a little.smile.gif

. I was curious what you all think the is the best tip to give a newbie is? A paddling trick, casting, landing a fish...whatever. I'm tyring to speed up the learning curve a little.smile.gif[/b]

Your own experiences will be your best teacher.Don't rush just enjoy.Everytime you go out you will learn something new. I have been fishing for 40 years and I still learn something everytime I go out.

John

JD,

Just had my yak out today for the first time. Loved it, even though I didn't catch much. Listen to these guys, they know. I'm more newbie than you. I plan to go out again tomorrow. I, like you, have not installed anything yet, just getting a feel for the boat. All I can say is, don't be afraid of the boat, I was real conservative today, and when I got back to the launch site I started messing around. Sitting sidesaddle is easy and very cooling on hot days, I just wish I had done it earlier in the day. I had fun, hope you did too. I think paddle clips will be my first install. I really could have used em.

A few tips, lets see don't lean to far over or your gonna tip smile.gif I was out this am & after a year in that thing almost went over for the second time, first was last year when I was test driving it with Barrel. Trolling with 2 rods can be a bit difficult if you get a fish on & don't get it in quick oh yeah I had this happen this am & got into a bit of a bind wink.gif So 1 may suffice, up to you.