I don't want anything you have to

mount to the yak, and prefer not

to have to lug a 12 volt battery

on board....Was thinking of the

Smart Cast (with the wrist band

screen), but don't know how practical/

comfortable/reliable this model is..

Any suggestions? Thanks---Mike

I know that Humminbird also uses the wireless transducer with one of their pyranah line. I have no experience with them, so I can't vouch for them.

When you say you don't want to have to tote a 12 volt battery around, are you aware that there are small 7amp/hr and 10 amp/hr batteries that will power most FF for days on end without recharging? They are roughly about 4"x7"x2". They take up very little space and weigh less than 5lbs.

Once you get one you will wonder how you ever got by without one. You definatley want to go hard wire, the wireless are junk imo. The battery is no big deal at all, I use a hobby battery its about 3 lbs and powers the unit for about 4 or 5 trips. just put it in a small tupperware container with some foam inside cut out to fit the shape of the battery. water tight and cheap.

OK--

What type of hobby battery are you using??? I'll go for the battery, but prefer NOT to have to mount a transducer or monitor to the actual yak.....More suggestions??? And btw, why are the wireless transducers no good ? I know they only have a life of 400 hours or so....thanks---Mike

1_12072_thumb.jpg

Mike, here is a small 12volt, 7amp/hr battery. They can be purchased at most electrical supply houses, some battery distributors like Interstate, and I'm guessing from Sax' post hobbie shops. They are usually very inexpensive, last for a couple years as long as they are maintained and easy to stow.

If you don't want to mount a transducer inside your yak so it fires thrugh the hull, you can always get a suction cup mount. Once you get the boat in the drink, slap it underneath and go fish. The only drawback is it can get knocked loose by debris or running agound.