Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
TimS

Fishing Report 8/14/00

6 posts in this topic

Charlie (Dubs) and myself took JonS on a lil' yakkin' expedition last evening. The place shall remain nameless, just a portion of the Raritan Bay system...much like 1000 other places. wink.gif We got there about 22:00 hours...high tide, barely headed out.

After some hello's and such, we loaded the yaks and hit the water. I admired, in a strange curious manner, JonS sit on top yak. I'm new to yakkin', it's different than my sit in obviously, I made note of the differences that I liked and those I didn't...there's definitely cause for both type yaks, no doubt.

So, we're now yakkin' around...Jon anchors up...I scooted east of him...then north...then west...kinda (inadvertently) went around him. I find a likely spot (yea, like I dunno this areawink.gif) and anchored...Dubs followed suit. First cast, my yellow bunny strip clouser stops dead and I stick something pretty decent...it passes me as it heads up current and comes unbuttoned. No big deal, catching one on the first cast is bad karma anyway biggrin.gif Then the next three casts I land smallish weaks, 14-18"....and let them go. I'm already bored now, I don't mind weaks, but these tiny guys get old fast...and they'd be much more tolerable with some stripers mixed in. We all move around, picking small weaks...occassionally finding a thick pack of them. At one point, my knot comes untied from the clip on my anchor...rope and all...gone! (Didn't pay attention in Boy Scouts?emb.gif) After much adieu, Dubs snags the rop with his anchor...I was trying to catch the rope with a fast sink line and two flies...no luck, but I did catch some nice clam shells and some weeds.

All told, it was a pleasure, nothing of note to report, the biggest weaks were a measly 20-22", mostly 16-18. Dubs had the only fluke...and no stripers cwm14.gif

Till next time.....

TimS