Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Dan B.

Open water boating/fishing safety

12 posts in this topic

Just wondering about how safe it is to paddle and fish in the big, open water areas of the Chesapeake and the Atlantic. I have been kayaking (whitewater) for over 25 years but have only limited experience in the salt. I have only paddled the Chesapeake once and the Atlantic a few times and was curious about other kayaker's thoughts and experiences regarding this type of environment. I am mostly concerned about boat traffic, jet skis, ships/wakes, etc. I have a yellow Tarpon 140 and my fishing partner has a red boat. We are also thinking of flying some type of flag from a pole or rod to enhance our visibility. Any advice or comments would be appreciated.

yellow good, red bad(blends in quick and easy), but not the worst. No problems in the ocean, pay attention to your situation and keep your eyes open. It's agreat place for a yak, especially along the surf zone and also the shallow areas where others can't tread. S

Thanks Scott & BluesCruiser. Have you guys had much experience bustin through the surf at AI, OC or OBX? Do you need pretty flat surf to get out past the surf zone? I have gotten through pretty big surf (4-6 ft) in a whitewater kayak but don't know how a 14 ft SOT would do. And in the Chesapeake, have you paddled out in to the open, deep water areas and if so what have been your experiences in regard to safety?

Thanks Again,

Dan

HeDan, 3-5 foot from the beach will be a hoot, fortunatley the yak has holes in it that allow the water to drain right through. So point right into them and paddle like heck. You may even want to use your WW paddle for this part then use a toruer when out past the surf zone. Scott