Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
blusteel

Tying Saltwater Flies

Rate this topic

13 posts in this topic

Hello to Everyone

I am new to fly tying. Quick question .headscratch.gif Can you tie a fly on a circle hook?.                                                                            

If so how effective is it ? Does it swim sideways? Does it make it easyer to set the hook?

Thank you

P.S Can use all the help I can get .

Since I see a yak on the truck a circle hook is a good deal for fly tying because if you troll a fly it's self hooking. I do not like circle hooks, I like to strip strike and be a happy camper. No barbs makes hook removal easy. If you want to tye on a circle hook it's swim just fine.....besides sideways means injured fish or dying dinner. The Fly BST just had some good deal on flys....FliesNPlugs had a super offer. Good luck.

For me having line in hand, feeling the take, setting the hook is a large percentage of the overall enjoyment of flyfishing.  Principles of the circle hook kind of go in the other direction. 

blusteel, welcome on board. The best place to get fly tying advice is the Fly Tying Forum. just go to the fly tying forum on the SOL list of Forums. I'm sure there are guys on it who tye circle hooks.

Mike, When circle hooks are inhaled and the fish turns away after the take the leader or line will exit the fish's mouth at the corner of its jaw that is closest to the angler. The circle hook will slide up from the stomach without digging into any internal flesh and when it reaches the corner of the jaw it will automatically rotate around the corner of the mouth and dig into the grisle there and the fish hooks itself, without any internal damages. The jaw corner also allows for an easy un hook and release of the fish.

More bait fishers should use circle hooks if they intend to catch and release the fish.