Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Marksharky

Hey North Jersey guys, it's a beautiful night...

5 posts in this topic

Anybody up for a little paddle & fishing tonight, I am thinking the Raritan bay or Neversink river say around 8:30 ish?

Oh yeah I been herin some talk about them there bunka bein around, I hear they taste perty good too!

[This message has been edited by Marksharky (edited 04-10-2002).]

Marky: Oceanic Bridge had a good size school of bunker today in the late afternoon. My friend fished the bridge and hooked large (16"+) bunkers on the fly....no bass! As soon as Jon gets my yak in we'll do some fishing. I'm totally new to kayaking but I have fished the Bayshore area for sometime now. Sorry for the lateness of this reply.

Even though I did not score it felt good to get out for a paddle. The AC guys hooked up a few to the south, maybe they just aren't quite ready to come in our rivers yet? I saw a few bunker not many though. It was a bit strange paddling alone in the dark cwm31.gif at first I was a bit nervous but as time went by I became acclimated. There were quite a few guys fishing off the bridge so I kind of kept my distance in those areas, wouldn't want Vinny to hit me with a sinker smile.gif.

One really cool thing that happened as I paddled about 200 yards east of the bridge up the river & turned around to look back... the vast openess of the area was amazing- the wind was dead calm, slack tide & I looked up at the sky I felt soooo small sitting in my kayak. Almost insignificant in the whole skeme of things with every thing else that is going on in the world(is that strange). I am not sure what it was but maybe with the bridge back off in the distance & just how huge space is anyway it was wild. I actually had some strange fear of lifting my Storm out of the water & having some big bass hit it last second, shocking me & knocking me out of the Yak smile.gif

Now I just need to boat my first Kayak striper this spring!