Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
jbrodin

Hollow Fly's first attempt, please comment

Rate this topic

11 posts in this topic

This is my first attempt at tying hollow fly's.

Any suggestions would be appreciated.

hook: Mustad 34007 1/0

thread: mono

body: deer hair various colors

flash: SF blend seaweed

eyes: 3D eyes - oval pupil silver/orange/black or prismatic tape eyes - silver

<br />

<br />

<br />

<br />

Hi JBrodin,

I think you are off to a good start if these are your first attempts at the Hollow Fleye. What do you like about these flies and how they turned out? As a first attempt, what were your major difficulties in applying the technique? Was it pulling the thread through the collar? Creating the dam ahead of the bucktail? Nailing down the flair? I would be interested in hearing what worked and what didn't...

I like all of these flies but the first pattern has a little too much material for how I like to tie hollow flies. It might just be the angle of photo that gives the appearance of bulk, hard to tell. How many hollow tied collars are there in the first pic? It looks like maybe two Hollow ties and a tail? I find it is easier to build up the dam of material ahead of the bucktail if there is less material. More material equates to a larger mound/ dam of thread which can get out of control. Although many talented and accomplished tiers used mono tying thread for their Hollow ties, I rarely ever use it opting instead for flat waxed or denier thread. I made this switch because the mono thread does not compress and after a few wraps up on the bucktail (to control flare), it would roll back down. Basically, the thread never stayed where I laid it down.

Again, I think these are a great start and I would be proud these ties. You should see my first attempts. GAK!!

I think your first attempts are a great start.