Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Warpedgoose

log book?

Rate this topic

12 posts in this topic

Wasn't there some software that was created to do this? Want to say there was a thread on it a few years ago

I do time of day, wind, air and water temp, tide, moon bait/lures. I also try to keep notes on the spots I am fishing (location of rip/bar/hole in relation to some landmark.

To be totally honest, I never even followed through with either. I had every intention, but I guess I got a little lazy. I still don't even have something solid that I can call a log (maybe I should have worded that differently) :D

I AM A BOAT ANGLER AND I HAVE BEEN KEEPING A LOG FOR OVER 20 YEARS. YOU CAN ALWAYS SEE A PATTERN AND WHERE THE FISH WILL BE BY KEEPING A GOOD BOOK. IT WILL DEFINITELY BAIL YOU OUT ON SOME DAYS.

I used to keep one, first in hard copy and then in a database, but I stopped some time ago. I found that when the time came to figure things out, I tended to refer to the log in my head rather than the one that was formally recorded.

There's no question that patterns emerge, and whether a log will help probably depends on your personality. I've been fortunate enough to have a good memory for details, and cursed with little patience (or time) for sitting around sifting through data, so the log really never worked out. Others who have a different sort of personality will find that a log is very useful.