Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Maruthu

Have you ever had issues due to Frame Flex with your conventional reel

Rate this topic

7 posts in this topic

Greetings,

I am relatively new to fishing and started off with a Lami XS10MHC and an Abu 6500 C3 CT Mag Elite about 8 years ago. I mostly fish with conventional gear with most of my reels being Abus in the 6500 and 7000/7500s range. Last year I wrecked one of my Abu (BG7000HS) while casting with 3oz T-Hex lure. I am thinking that the frame flexed during the cast and my spool axle jammed with the pinion gear. I am in the process of buying a Tiburon P20 frame for my Penn 505HS to fish for big GTs from the rocks using 40# mono.

I was wondering if anyone else out there had issues with frame flex with conventional gear?

Also, am I going to have issues with my Abu BG7000HS, even after I change the spool/axle and the pinion gear, due to the existing frame that might have flexed beyond recovery?

Cheers, Maruthu

I fish conventional gear 99.99% of the time. Some of the reels I use are Penn, Shimano, Daiwa, and of course Abu. I use the Abu for throwing plugs and tins. I have heard stories of the frame on the 6500 flexing but it has not happened to me. I usually won't use the 6500 for more than 4 oz. weights but have landed nice fish with it with out any problems. The fish in my profile pic was landed on a 6500 in the surf. It was a Sturgeon that was 6ft. and estimated to weigh over 100 lbs. The Abu held up fine. Good luck.