Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
greeneflash

Chesapeake area Military looking for fly fishing advice

Rate this topic

21 posts in this topic

I am military recently stationed in DC and looking to start fly fishing striper.  I have fly fished in the past, but never in salt water, and never in the Chesapeake.  I found a reasonably priced 9wt on ebay, with a floating line and an intermediate line.  I have access to a boat in the South River, just south of Annapolis.  I even checked Lefty's book out of the library.  So, I have done my research, but could use some local knowledge.  

What flies do I need in my box start with, and where are some local spots.  I can't get up to the Susquehanna, but I can get out to the Thomas Point area easily.  Any advice to get me started would be appreciated.  Thanks.

I have no local knowledge to offer, just some general advice for stripers.....

6 foot leader straight shot 20-30 lb mono is good enough to get started

Clousers and deceivers in white or chartreuse and white. Size 1 probably a good starting point. Deceivers will be easier to cast.

If you can get a copy of lou tabory's book , you will learn about all you'll ever be able to learn about striper fishing, both fly and regular gear, from a book, Assuming you are a shore bound angler.

I think there is an Orvis in DC and even an urban angler in alexandria. I would swing by one of those shops or any b and t to maybe get some idea where to look for the stripers.

A guy who posts here , or used to post here, is or was employed by Orvis in DC ( or maybe Orvis is in Alexandria too?), hopefully he chimes in.

Sorry I can not be more helpful with more specific info, but when I was in DC I neverdid any local fishing. Looking back that was a mistake.

Keep a log book, location, time of day, weather, bait you observed, tidal stage/times, moon phase, wind direction/speed

Thanks for your service.