Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
stripedbassjeff

Kayak fishing guides of east coast Florida.

Rate this topic

3 posts in this topic

This time my yearly trip to Florida I want too do a kayak tour. Some by trips by myself and some with a guide. I'm gong the last half of may and I'm hoping to do red fish on the space coast, Snook in Stuart,of shore in verro beach and tarpon in Miami and the keys.

I have a inflatable Hobie kayak packed with everything it weighs about 85 pounds. I tried bringing it in the plane last time and they wanted 250 each way. I later talked to a UPS guy and a hotel manager that said I could ship it to my hotel a week before and it would cost me about 60 dollars each way. Any one ever done this before if so how much out cost and was it worth it.

I haven't done that hotel shipping thing with a kayak, but have done something very similar when doing trade shows when I used to work in the computer industry, ie usually I would send the stuff about 3 days before I arrived, using a two day guaranteed delivery shipping, and you ship it to yourself, but to the hotel.   I would strongly suggest that you call the hotel in advance, to make sure of what address etc.  Ususally I would do something like:

Hotel Guest : John Doe

Holiday Inn of Fishing Paradise

Addresss1

Address 2

make sure you use tracking numbers with UPS or FedEx, and have them with you, as you can ususally use that to assist the hotel in finding the package, ie tell them it was delivered yesterday at 3:44 pm and Joe XXX signed for it.  Not sure of the shipping costs these days but you can check with UPS or fedex in advance.  It may be more cost effective to breakdown what you are shipping into several small boxes than one giant one, if you can.