Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
lockbox

Shame on Mustad hooks

Rate this topic

87 posts in this topic

i just received an order of 300 hundred stainless steel mustad Hooks. I have been using the Sid was stainless hooks for many years. to my dismay the stainless hook i ordered and took possession of are different.these hooks are lighter in color and seem to be lighter in weight.When dropped they make a very different hollow type sound. I am very worried they will not hold up and will bend out .i purchased these hooks in 100 4/0 100 5/0 100 6/0

the box numbers are 6/0 100 QTY> reference -- 95170

5/0 100 QTY> reference -- 95170

4/0 100 Qty> reference -- 95170

these hooks are now made in CHINA -- the stainless Steel is not the same. shame on them for wrecking a great product .

I ran into this last summer when I purchased some #34007 Mustads, the new ones are made in China and have a very different appearance from the old ones made in Norway. I had some small fish bend the new ones. For anything I would use a #34007 for I now use a Daiichi 2456, more expensive but I haven't had any 20" inch bass bend them yet.

yikes, what are the hooks that come on Redfins? Those things get bent when I play around in the living room.

One note, I bought mustad streamer hooks, and they were so soft that they bent when putting them in the vice to tie to! blew my mind!

Why is this a Chinese issue? Mustad outsourced them and accepted an apparently lower quality product. I'm sure the hooks could have easily been made to any spec.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Lazha View Post

Has anyone been able to even access Mustad website, US portion ? Saltwater portion ? I keep getting permission denied

I tried a couple weeks ago trying to buy some hooks and was denied from everything confused.gif