Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Espresso

DPSM18 Size Fuji Reel Seat

Rate this topic

13 posts in this topic

I'm fairly new to rod building and was looking to wrap a 11' 1-5oz surf rod used for tossing lures. The blank itself is pretty thin and light weight for it's length. At the butt, it's just over 17mm dia and near the reel seat it's about 15.5mm dia. Given these specs, I was just curious if anyone has used a DPSM18 sized reel seat on a similar sized 10'-11' surf rod? It seems to fit a Shimano 8000 reel foot fine but it's visibly smaller than say a DPSM20. Has anyone used a DPSM18 and had any issues with strength when fighting a larger fish? Just looking for opinions on which reel seat size to go with. Thanks!

I used the dpsm 18 on my 10 foot century stealth, fits great. Usually have my vs150 on it but last fall I did take it out a few times with my shimano spheros 8000fa and it paired fine with it. Good luck with your build.

on some of my century stealth rods i have a size 17, i like using the smallest reel seat possible, it holds a vs/zeebaas without issue and all other reels seem to be fine.

but yes a 18 to 20 seems like a big jump in size.

so people prefer a bigger seat especially if you plan on building up the butt section, say with a cork grip then x flock over it, or a "paco" style grip, the cork/flocc will sit even with a larger seat and have a some transistion where a smaller seat will be lower than the grip, something to keep in mind.

no issues with big fish either.

not sure what blank you have but if its a century and you need a starting guide layout please ask, will be glad to help.

A VS size 200 class and above will not fit the 18. They fit the 20 though. As stated earlier, VS150 fits the 18. No problem with a zeebaas reel though... Trying some experimantation stretching the 18 to accept the larger reels. Managed to destroy 2 seats already....LOL