Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
bigbuck28

Pouring rubber adding powder color

Rate this topic

10 posts in this topic

Ok im just getting into pouring my own baits and a few questions for the pros.

I have 5 gallons of the 550 extra strength and a bunch of powder coloring.

My questions are

~How do i know how much powder coloring to add to achieve my color? I am trying to make Arkansas shiner swim baits?

~Do i need to add hardener to these as there extra strength and made for salt water?

Any other tips or tricks would be greatly appreciated, Ive been reading all the past threads. I just ordered lurecrafts pouring rubber DVD as well.

I'm certainly no pro with soft plastics, but here is how I do it. Coloring is a personal thing. Mix in a bit of powder, then check the color to see if is what you want. If not, add a bit more powder. I'll sometimes pour a bait, check to see if the color is right and go from there. You can remelt the ones that are not right. The extra strength plastic has worked well for me without any hardener. You want some softness for action.

Jigman

first make sure the plastic is WELL mixed and there is no residue on the bottom ........... different manufacturers have different sediment concerns.

Second, I would heat the plastic and add the color until you get the right color and then pour. I assume you are using a microwave and Pyrex measuring cup. Some say to mix in with the plastic before heating. I think after because it goes from white to clear and I believe you get more accurate coloring just before you pour ...... others will disagree.

Make sure the powder dye isn't the powder paint you use to paint the jigs ....... not sure how that would work but I somehow thisk that would be a problem if it is. Most of the powder stuff is dye.

And ........ make sure you use gloves, eye protection and long sleved shirts and long pants at least ....... that stuff will cause permanent damage if it gets on you .......