Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
ogsep22

How does (lure) size matter??

Rate this topic

20 posts in this topic

Easy guys..just having some fun.  I'm actually in my second year of surf fishing and believe it or not, I actually landed my first striper last year using a Little Neck SS plug.  Not a cow but definitely just under the size limit.  Of course I released her and I could barely contain my elation but I'm officially "hooked" for life...OK... I'll stop with the cheesy puns!! biggrin.gif  I'm staying local so I can gain as much knowledge of my immediate landscape as possible but I'm looking for some basic guidance on presenting artificials.  I fish mainly South Shore open beaches, or at least I hope I will this year LL.gif and I was wondering about lure size.  They're so many options and surf plugs are not cheap so I was wondering if any of you sharpies out there could shed some light on the subject.  Is there really a difference if I use a 2 oz as opposed to a 4 oz?  I'm pretty sure water depths have something to do with it but that's the extent of my expertise..if that's even accurate. 

Thanks for the posts in advance.

Finding white water is more important on the south shore. For plug size, you dont need anything more than 2 3/8 oz, i usually stick closer to 2oz. most of the time the bass are under your feet so you dont need to worry about distance unless there is a strong wind in your face. Save yourself a hassle and just buy some more super strike plugs to begin with. For bucktails, you wont need anything more than 3/4- 1.5oz depending on conditions (this dosent apply for inlets)

Conditions dictate what lures you would throw. If the bass are chasing adult bunker or large shad...we'll you just might select a larger size lure that mimics the size and the contour of that particular bait. You can use bucktails and increase their size, somewhat, by dressing them with different types and sizes of pork rinds.