Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Drew C.

Google Drive vs Amazon Cloud

Rate this topic

25 posts in this topic

Any one use either of these? Just had a scare with my computer and had to rush and back stuff up. I have back up drives but wanted another layer. I also have 7 years of pics on this computer and they eat a ton of space. I wanted to store the pics on the cloud and get them off the hard drive. I started with Google Drive but it seems to sync the cloud folder with a google drive folder on my computer and thats costing me significant space on the hard drive. From what I see Amazon Cloud doesn't do that, I could dump the pics there and get them off the drive and free up space. I'm new to this cloud crap and maybe I'm not using Google Drive correctly but if what I see is true and that I need to store the files on my computer its not going to work.

Oh, I would've posted this in the computer forum but I couldn't find it

You don't need to have Google Drive installed on your PC for it to work. You should use Chrome, if you're not already. I've been using the Google platform for years now and it's constantly improving. I don't even use Microsoft Office anymore. The only thing holding me back from going all out on a Chromebook is this 3rd party software (Jeppesen) that I use to update aircraft databases. As soon as that goes web-based, I'm out and all in the cloud. Eff Microsoft. Eff Apple. They both got it wrong.

Dropbox or Drive are great.. I use both but prefer DropBox (all free and now up to 9.7GB)

There's also Box.com but haven't had the chance to mess with it yet...

Forgot to mention MS's Skydrive too (7GB Free)

Best scenario is do a primary back up into a Media, DAS, or NAS then backup the data to an online storage of choice.

Dropbox or Drive are great.. I use both but prefer DropBox (all free and now up to 9.7GB)

There's also Box.com but haven't had the chance to mess with it yet...

Forgot to mention MS's Skydrive too (7GB Free)