Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
roughseas0

First Time Out :-(

26 posts in this topic

For months I've been reading posts about yak flings and successful first time outings only to look at my own yak and wonder when I'll have the time to enjoy it. Yesterday morning I was up at the crack of dawn and all ready for my maiden voyage. At 5am, I'm checking out a little spot in Jamaica Bay. There's a light wind, it's warm out, ...what a beautiful day its going to be.

Five minutes later I'm getting the feel of sitting in the yak in knee deep water. I practiced paddling along the shoreline for a while noting how far I can lean side to side before I start to lose my balance. Before long I'm out and about coming back to shore every 10 minutes or so and starting over.. It's my first time out and I don't want to get over confident.

Someone came to where I had been beaching the yak and launched a jig right over my head. He then yelled "Any fish out there?". I said "nope, not one" and took the hint. ..time to pack it in. I should have called it a day then but I decided to go to another spot.

This spot was the same as the first and I pretty much did just as I had done earlier. I practiced paddling and turning but this time not returning to shore.

All was fine until I tipped and ended up in the water. OK, no big deal, it's just like getting back on a windsurfer..Not so. I tried a few times and couldn't do it. Treading water, I turned towards shore and realized that even the closest point was a good distance away. The longer I stayed still trying to come up with a plan, the further the current was taking me from my launch site. OK, time to swim to shore with yak in tow. I started side strokin' it back.