Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
mrsinbad

PFD's & what to hang from it?

28 posts in this topic

I'm beginning to look for a PFD for my new yak from you know who. I'm new to yakking and I don't swim extremely well. I'm afraid I may be overthinking this issue. I have read from previous threads that some of you have Lotus PFD's. What about Extrasport? What make and models would you guys recommend for me?

Also, what do you guys hang from your PFD's (strobe, VHF, GPS, hand grenades?)

Thanks for all the help.

MrSinbad Find one that is comfortable and fits ya well.I would find one with big pockets and a couple of D rings to hook stuff to.Go to a yak shop and try them on sitting in a yak.Lots of nice different brands just check them out.

joev

joev, good answer. I'm lokin for one too. I'm a decent to good swimmer. But I gotta have one, I'm a safety type of person. I'm thinkin about the AC show. Will there be any kayak type stuff there? Anybody heard from Barrel in a while.

Cabela's Quick clip combo or Rapala's Sportsman's Kit look like they would come in handy. The kits have either pliers, knives, clippers, hook sharpener and jig eye buster on a lanyard or belt hook.

OK Jon, I'll bite. Where's Paddlesport? I quess it's up your way. I was thinkin doesn't Barrel have or work at a store. And since it's close to AC maybe I could you know slide over there.

Heard from Barrel he was in Florida for a while.

I think the SOS suspenders are nice .A little pricey if ya are on a budget.

Thought I heard that Kayakjoe rescued a guy in NY .Because his didnt work when he hit the water.

joev