Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
cliffblair

THE SUPER PUNGO!

12 posts in this topic

A lot of the guys up north are a little closed minded and reject some of the things you guys in the mid atlantic take for granted, like fish finders, trolling motors, maybe even a small sail. As a newbie my mind was wide open when I took my first ride in my Pungo on a nearby pond. It was peaceful and quiet, I was aware of everything around me. I wondered what was below me...i needed a fish finder! I kept thinking how geat it would be to have a little electric trolling motor so I could just sit back, relax and enjoy myself while I was trolling.

I looked around at my little Pungo and asked myself "where would I put all that stuff?"

What I needed was a SUPER PUNGO!

I started looking through all the web sites and came across the Pamilico Excel. Looks kinda like a pungo, 4 feet longer, 4 inches wider, bigger cockpit, just the right boat to begin putting togeather a SUPER PUNGO!

I just might do it! A humminbird 400tx fathometer, through the hull transducer, side finder transducer mounted on the 40 lb thrust riptide electric and a big deep cycle battery which would give me extra ballast.

There is probably some small sail rig I can buy for those fun down wind runs...I love to sail...and troll at the same time, pefect speed for blues!

Yea, I know its heavy at 85 lbs. Sure I am old, but the strongest old man you ever met.

My new Thule racks will be in tommorrow and the rear saddles have a roller in the middle.

What do you think? Am I crazy? Cliff

It's been done Cliff, not for me but I'm rootin' for ya'. Search past topics, there's some great info on batteries, chargers, fish finders, you name it. I think the platform of choice has been the Cobra Fish and Dive. You probably won't have any problem with the weight since you got the rollers. Go for it. You probably have to register the sucker, though, even if it's just a trolling motor.

Jim