Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
sleepyhead

37 posts in this topic

Hey guys I have gotten tha bug. I have been looking at the tarpon 16' and the 12' models. I understand that the 16' is alittle faster but I will also be fishing some lakes to. So my question is will the 12'model work in the ocean fishing fer stripers?

Tough time of year as peoples attention turns to other things.Don't take it personal...............but I know how it feels to post a question and get no responses( never here though!)

I have no experience in those kayaks so can't help.Sorry!

You really need to paddle them both for yourself to understand them.

Longer = faster

Hope these other folks chip in.

C'mon ..............help this person out !

Sorry Sleepy Head I missed ya.

Anyway I have 2 160 Tarpon his and hers. Also paddled the 120.You can fish the 160 anywhere the 120 will go.But you cant turn around in a 13 ft wide creek.

The 160 is a great boat .I would much rather have the rear hatch than a tank well.Its very easy to access just by sitting sideways in the yak.DougM fly fishes that way.Its easy once you get used to it.Right now I think the 160 is one of the best SOTs out there.If someone has one better I will buy it.Its fast stable and can hold a ton of stuff.Ask DougM about his kitchen sink .

Speed isnt the issue its the ease of paddling as I call it .Less strokes to go as far as a smaller yak.Most people that have or have traded up to the 160 like it.

There are some other good yaks out there.There also is a new one coming out this spring the JONS fisherman model wich will be 14ft and have a bunch of features that others dont.

JoeV

------------------

Always Wishin I Was Yak Fishin